Great golfing day at De Goyer!


The wonderful golf course at Golf Club De Goyer in Emends saw the annual Nyenrode Alumni VCV Golf Tournament on July 8. The number of participants was overwhelming, 101! Texas Scramble was played, requiring tactical discussion as a team. The participants originated from 37 different study years, ranging from NOIB alumni from the fifties to recent graduates. Alumni from as far away as New York and South Africa had flown to the Netherlands to participate in this tournament.

Towards the end of the afternoon, everyone went to the beautiful clubhouse, where they enjoyed a beer and bitterballen (bitterballen – typically Dutch round croquettes). After the drinks, a delicious three-course dinner was served where everyone could have a chat and exchange experiences. During dinner, the prize ceremony took place. The team that won first prize Texas Scramble received four flight tickets, made available by Transavia, Erik Jan Gelink (19880060). The second prize Texas Scramble consisted of four pairs of golf shoes, made available by Duca del Cosma, Frank van Wezel (19580108) and Caroline van Wezel. The winners of the Year Prize each received a beautiful Joe Merino sweater, Ron Beckers (19810007). This year, a Debating Society prize was awarded for the second time, this time it was won by debating society Luctor. Hopefully, all debating societies will participate with a flight next year. 

Check out the photographs on this page.

The prized were awarded to:

Texas Scramble first prize: Arno Borger, Klaas Pieter Roemeling, Erik den Adel and Fieke van Iterson-Steenhoek with 53 points

Texas Scramble second prize: Gert-Jan Scheers, Jan Zielstra, Lex Tholen and Nico Engelsman with 50 points

Texas Scramble third prize: Roderick Bredero, Hans Siertsema, Eric Bodlaender and Tjerk Suurenbroek with 48 points

They won free entry to the Refreshment Day VCV, November 22

Year Prize winner study year 1976: Gert-Jan Scheers, Jacques Gotlieb, Henry Groeneveld, Henri Zondag, Lex Cleton and Lex Tholen with 45.5 points

Debating Society prize: Luctor, Beer van Muiswinkel, Pouwel Brouwer, Thomas Stassen, Wim Schimmel, Roderick Bredero, Hans Siertsema, Eric Bodlaender, Tjerk Suurenbroek

They won a magnum bottle of champagne

Neary ladies: Marijke Burmann

She won a dinner for two at Slangevegt

Neary gentlemen: Henry Groeneveld

He won 2 green fees at De Goyer

Longest drive ladies: Kiki Slijkhuis

She won 2 vouchers for a lunch at Le Pain Quotidien

Longest drive gentlemen: Tjerk Suurenbroek

He won 2 vouchers for a lunch at Le Pain Quotidien

Many thanks to all sponsors for making this wonderfully fun day a success!

Transavia, Duca del Cosma, restaurant Slangevegt, Golf Club De Goyer, LFE Groupe, Joe Merino, Le Pain Quotidien, Werthers Echte, Klene drop, Fuze tea

The Golf Committee